DAY ONE of the Whole 30

Alright folks, we made it through Day 1! I did feel really awful this morning, but that was probably due to the pizza and whiskey binge last night. In terms of my food choices, I think we did a pretty solid job, so I’m feeling pretty good about myself. Here’s a rundown of the day:

Meal 1: Two prosciutto/spinach/tomato egg cups, courtesy of Nom Nom Paleo. These came out great! Tomorrow I may add some grapes along with the egg cups–the plate looked a little sparse and I was a little prematurely hungry for lunch. Which led me to…

Mini-meal: Ten grapes and some prosciutto for protein.

Meal 2: Mesclun and spinach with a can of tuna, a hardboiled egg, kalamata olives and some broken mayo repurposed as ranch. Underwhelming, but that’s how I usually feel about salads.

Meal 3: Roast chicken with sweet potatoes, carrots, onions and leeks. This was delicious if I do say so myself. Other than waiting too long to start this meal and being starving by the time it was done, I’m super duper happy with how this came out. Plus I’m going to use the carcass to make bone broth tomorrow 🙂

Please ignore my town & country plates and silly leggings

Please ignore my town & country plates and silly leggings

How do I feel? Pretty good! I might have overdone it on the coconut oil in the egg cups, because I felt a little off and I’m definitely not used to that in my diet. My blood sugar also dipped along the bottom of my normal range today because less carbs, which is always a wonderful feeling!

I also successfully made MAYO after last night’s disaster and hell yes, it is as good as they say. Will came up with the brilliant idea of putting the olive oil in one of those glass salad dressing containers so that it would dribble out super slow and that made all the difference. So freakin’ good.

Only the most delicious mayo I've ever had

Only the most delicious mayo I’ve ever had

2 thoughts on “DAY ONE of the Whole 30

  1. Congratulations on starting day 1! My husband and I started day 1 today as well. What was your mayo recipe? As you continue your journey, I think you should share recipes that you both find delicious!!! Thanks and good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

