Days 22 & 23 – Moar carbs

So I figured something out today about my recent mood craziness. I seem to be a lot happier and more even keel on the days that I’m eating more carb-dense veggies, like sweet potatoes and butternut squash. Yesterday I had some starchy veggies at every meal and I felt great! So I went back through the log and yup, all the days that I was grouchy and irritable–no carbs. The perks of keeping a food diary! Of course, that makes it a bit tougher with my blood sugars, but it’s by no means any harder than what I was dealing with pre-Whole 30. And not being snippy is worth a few sweet potatoes (for me and Will).

Day 22 (Monday)

Meal 1 – Prosciutto egg muffins + leftover roasted veggies. Yay sweet potatoes!

Meal 2 – I noticed we had some butternut squash and breakfast sausage that needed to be used up in our fridge, so I legit googled “butternut squash sausage paleo” and found this lovely pseudo-stuffing recipe. I’m really happy with how this came out and it was pretty easy!

Stuffing you can make any time of year

Stuffing you can make any time of year

Meal 3  – Well it’s Monday, so we had a roasted chicken and veggies. This is such a good meal I can’t get over it. Plus it leaves us with some nice leftovers.

Day 23 (Tuesday)

Meal 1 – Fried eggs + leftover “stuffing.” I was lazy last night and didn’t make our egg cups. I haven’t made them tonight yet either…

Meal 2 – Leftover roast chicken and veggies. We really didn’t do much food prep for this week, so not too many options.

Meal 3 – Meatballs + spaghetti squash + Bove’s tomato sauce. I made another batch of these meatballs from Holistically Engineered because the last batch were great and lasted us for 2 whole weeks. This time I smartened up and froze them in portioned out bags of 8 meatballs each, instead of in huge tupperwares. We have 5 portions left so that should last us a good chunk of time.

If I was being good tonight I’d make the prosciutto egg cups and butternut squash soup to use up the rest of the squash, but I’m guessing I’ll probably make a cup of tea and crochet instead. Isn’t my life so exciting?!

Leave a Reply

