Day 29 & 30 – WE DID IT!!

Yup, that’s right. It’s the end of day 30. We made it through 30 days of no grains, dairy, added sweeteners, legumes and alcohol with no slip-ups, mistakes, or cheats. Fuck yes. Now it’s not really the end yet because we committed to going til Friday (Whole 32 just doesn’t quite have the same ring to it though). But all the good vibes and accomplished feelings are still sparking inside me–I must have said to Will a million times today that WE DID IT!

Day 29 (Monday)

Meal 1 – Will had the last of the prosciutto egg muffins + grapes. I made myself fried eggs with leftover roast veggies since I had the holiday off (yay!)

Meal 2 – Will had leftover chicken and veggies. I made a super random salad with chicken sausage, granny smith apples, broiled onions and baby spinach a la Mom vs Chaos. One thing I’ve definitely learned through this whole experience is that making your own salad dressings is super easy and tastes awesome. I ❤ olive oil.

Meal 3 – Spaghetti (from spaghetti squash) & meatballs. We were lazy and these meatballs are just so easy and delicious. Last night was also notable because it was the last time that we’ll have to watch the Bachelor without wine, thank god. There was also 5 hours of airtime this week, so that’s a real storm we weathered together.

Day 30 (!!) (Tuesday)

Meal 1 – I made another batch of prosciutto egg muffins of course.

Meal 2 – Leftover pork with apples and onions. I had completely forgotten this was in our fridge – win!

Meal 3 – Butternut squash soup with a fried egg on top. Somehow this goes together amazingly well. I probably don’t need more eggs in my life considering we eat them for breakfast every day, but it’s just such an easy source of protein.

How am I feeling? Great! I feel super accomplished. This has definitely been a roller coaster, but I’ve learned a lot about food and how it affects me, and that is something that’s worth working hard to figure out. My blood sugars have improved drastically and I’ve just generally gotten into better habits with checking my blood sugar all the time, which is a big step for me. I haven’t felt deprived when it comes to food–I actually think we eat way more delicious foods than we ever have in the past, simply because we pay so much attention to what we’re eating, and we so rarely go with the “quick and easy” option (although prep definitely makes our meals quicker and easier during the week, which is so necessary.) I’m not really worried about continuing to eat the right foods when we’re at home, at least until the wedding. We are both OK with making exceptions for dinners that are worth it–like going to my parents house or out to limoncello or other social things. We’re going to make a concerted effort not to fall back into our drinking habits too much either. We both really enjoy quality wine and whiskey, and of course the effects of liquor. But we’ve talked a lot about our guidelines for drinking moving forward, because for both of us it feels like a slippery slope. I’m not saying that our drinking habits really have a noticeable negative effect on our lives, but it does make eating choices harder, sleep less healing, and adds all those excess calories that we just don’t need. So we’re better off using this as a jumping off point for better habits moving forward, instead of this whole a few glasses of wine every day thing.

What am I looking forward to? I talked enough about booze already so… chocolate! I already bought a bar of unsweetened Godiva chocolate that is technically compliant, but I didn’t want to indulge during the 30 days so I held off. I might have some tomorrow of the desire strikes. Otherwise, on Friday I think we’re going to try some cheese. Our plan is to go down to Halibut Point (I can’t believe we haven’t been there for a month) after dinner and have some celebratory champagne and maybe oysters? There’s not much there on the menu that I’ve been craving, so the cheese part will probably wait until Saturday. Also, to not be totally self-focused, I just asked Will what he was looking forward to eating and he said, “whiskey, cheese… and I know you want chocolate.” He knows me so well.

Leave a Reply

