The big move

For the past week or more I’ve been bringing the little seedlings outside in the mornings and Will has been graciously bringing them in for me around 1. I read that in gardener speak this is called “hardening off.” They’ve been doing pretty well – the lettuce, chives and sage are all thriving, so they’ve been the first to make the big move outside!!

I have two window boxes in my possession, so these guys are in one right now. Check ’em out!

Window Box

Chives/Sage

Lettuce

Even though I planted them in biodegradable pots, I read a recommendation to take them out so that the roots won’t have to fight through the pot to get to more soil. They look reasonably happy but I’m worried about them already… they’re growing up so fast!

I also planted some more seeds to see what sticks: buttercrunch lettuce, kale, radishes, mint and more basil. These ones I planted in these fancy seed starters. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

